Rincón Mágico: Turina complete guitar works
Your Cart

Rincón Mágico: Turina complete guitar works

Disc Price:
Add to Cart

Air Classical

Rincón Mágico: Turina complete guitar works

Artist/Band: José Manuel Dapena

1. Danzas fantásticas Op 22: Exaltación
2. Danzas fantásticas Op 22:Ensueño
3. Danzas fantásticas Op 22:Orgía
4. Danzas gitanas Op 55: Zambra
5. Danzas gitanas Op 55: Danza de la seducción
6. Danzas gitanas Op 55: Danza ritual
7. Danzas gitanas Op 55: Generalife
8. Danzas gitanas Op 55: Sacro-Monte
9. Cuentos de España Op. 20: nº4, En los jardines de Murcia
10. Sevillana Op. 29
11. Fandanguillo Op. 36
12. Ráfaga Op. 53
13. Sonata Op. 61: Allegro
14. Sonata Op. 61: Andante
15. Sonata Op. 61: Allegro vivo
16. Homenaje a Tárrega Op. 69: Garrotín
17. Homenaje a Tárrega Op. 69: Soleares

You have to appreciate the new generation of guitarist who take the initiative to manufacture their own albums instead of waiting for a A&R rep to bless their efforts with a recording contract because generally, this rarely happens anyway - unless an artist happens to win a contract through a competition or else land a bulldog manager who can procure a spark from twizzling sticks against flint and from snapping at the heels of various labels while papering their client´s face all over town á la the graffiti artist Banksy.

Spanish guitarist José Manuel Dapena has formed his own label, Air Classical, which issues music via downloadable mp3s.
Dapena´s newest release, Rincón Mágico, features his performance of the Joaquín Turina´s entire body of original manuscripts. Given that the now-defunt Tower Records in New York was never open or accessible 24 hours the way the online web is, the idea of a click-to-pay and download album has it appeal, even it it´s lacking the shiny tactile magpie charm that a physical CD offers. Just think - seriously, where are you going to stuff another CD on your shelf anyway?. A quick google search of this album title and artist shows that the album is available online for download from various number of popular music sites, including iTunes and Amazon.

Dapena, a student of David Russell´s, also studied harmony with Turina´s grandson, José Luis Turina and he actively correspond with Alfredo Morán of the Turina archives, when working on these pieces, which showcase Turina´s contemporary, modernistic interpretation of traditional Spanish music.

Dapena succeeds in fully capturing the character and spirit of these pieces, which include Turina´s Danzas fantásticas Op. 22, three pieces originally written for piano, along with Danzas gitanas Op. 55, inspired by gypsy music of Granada. Also included is a lovely rendition of Cuentos de España Op. 20, Sevillana Op. 29, Fandanguillo Op. 36 Ráfaga Op. 53, Sonata Op. 61 and Homenaje a Tárrega Op. 69.

This music download compilation represents a significant body of work, not just for Dapena´s masterful playing but for the ambitious scholarly effort put into restoring these pieces to their original, non-Segovia form

Julia Crowe, New York - March 2007

--Classical Guitar Magazine Vol. 25 N.7

Title #2068425
Format: CD-R