Crossroads Road: A Novel

List Price: $13.95

Add to Cart
About the author:
Jeff Kay has maintained The West Virginia Surf Report!, a strangely addictive humor website, since late 2000. He grew up in Dunbar, West Virginia, and now lives near Scranton, Pennsylvania with his wife, two sons, and a border collie named Andy (aka Blacklips Houlihan). Crossroads Road is his first novel.

Crossroads Road: A Novel
 

Authored by Jeff Kay

Jovis McIntire's quiet life in the suburbs is turned upside down the day his mother-in-law wins $234 million in a multi-state lottery. She quickly makes an identical offer to all her children and their families: a large, custom-built home, and two million dollars cash.

But there's a catch, a nasty hook hidden inside the bait. If the deal is accepted, they will be required to live together on a newly-created cul-de-sac in southern California, for the remainder of the matriarch's life - a woman Jovis sarcastically calls Sunshine.

Not a chance!

And that would only be the beginning of it, he knows. The rest of his wife's family is no prize, either. Nancy the bohemian earth child with organic, free-range armpits, Kevin the pompous scarf-wearing intellectual, Sue the 400-pound attention junkie who throws herself down flights of stairs for sympathy... Jovis sees them all as kooks, in one way or another, and they want him to live amongst them? Not for a million bucks! Or two million, even.

But his defiance begins to fade when Jovis returns to his job, and realizes he's now there by choice.

Crossroads Road is the first novel by Jeff Kay, proprietor of the popular humor site The West Virginia Surf Report! It is a rollicking comedy, perfect for fans of National Lampoon's Vacation, Curb Your Enthusiasm, and It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia.

An early reader called the book "relentlessly hilarious."


Publication Date:
2011-04-11
ISBN/EAN13:
098333580X / 9780983335801
Page Count:
262
Binding Type:
US Trade Paper
Trim Size:
6" x 9"
Language:
English
Color:
Black and White
Related Categories:
Fiction / Humorous




Site Help Order Help Policies Contact