Through Struggle, the Stars

List Price: $14.99

Add to Cart

Learn more

About the author:
John J. Lumpkin, the author of Through Struggle, the Stars, was born in 1973 in San Antonio, Texas, and educated at Texas Christian University, and, lately, the University of Colorado at Boulder.

A former military affairs and national security reporter for the Albuquerque Journal and the Associated Press, his experience includes covering 9-11, walking the halls of CIA headquarters, and racing through Baghdad and Kabul in military convoys.

He may also be the only person who has had a drink with both Donald Rumsfeld and Steve-O from Jackass (but, to be clear, not at the same time).

Now a writer and teacher, he lives outside of Boulder, Colorado.

Through Struggle, the Stars
 

Authored by John J. Lumpkin

In 2139, a network of artificial wormholes has allowed humanity to reach nearby stars, where nations fiercely compete to settle new colony worlds. War is imminent between Earth's top powers, China and Japan, for reasons that no one entirely understands.

Neil Mercer, a freshly commissioned officer in the United States Space Force, is assigned to shepherd a senior spy on a covert mission that risks drawing America into the conflict. In a story featuring high adventure, interstellar intrigue and some of the most scientifically realistic space combat depicted in fiction, Neil and his comrades must face difficult questions about duty, citizenship and national interest as they struggle to discover why the war threatens to engulf every nation on Earth.

Recommended for fans of Tom Clancy, Patrick O'Brian, and Robert Heinlein. Also available as an e-book at www.thehumanreach.net.

"It's all great, good fun ... " -- Don Sakers, Analog Science Fiction and Fact, May 2012

"... a fine and fast-paced read, very much recommended." -- Paul T. Vogel, The Midwest Book Review, January 2012


Publication Date:
Aug 26 2011
ISBN/EAN13:
1461195446 / 9781461195443
Page Count:
428
Binding Type:
US Trade Paper
Trim Size:
5.25" x 8"
Language:
English
Color:
Black and White
Related Categories:
Fiction / Science Fiction / Space Opera




Site Help Order Help Policies Contact