Megalithic Monuments of Ireland

List Price: $31.99

Add to Cart
About the author:
Other titles by this author include 'Stones of Time' and 'Dolmens of South East Ireland'.

Megalithic Monuments of Ireland

County Guide Series - Galway

Authored by Mr Philip I Powell

County Galway 'Contae na Gaillimhe' was named after the city of Galway 'Gaillimh'. The first inhabitants in the Galway area arrived over 7,000 years ago as shell middens from as early as 5,000 BC tell us of their existence. County Galway came into official existence in 1569, but before that, the county originally comprised of several kingdoms and territories which predate the formation of the county. They included the kingdoms of Aidhne, Ui Maine, Maigh Seola, Conmhaicne Mara and Maemaige. County Galway is home to Lough Corrib, the largest lake in the Republic of Ireland, the Twelve Bens mountain range and the highest point in the county is one of the Twelve Bens, 'Benbaun', at 729m above sea level.

Publication Date:
1463538057 / 9781463538057
Page Count:
Binding Type:
US Trade Paper
Trim Size:
5" x 8"
Full Color
Related Categories:
History / Europe / Ireland

Site Help Order Help Policies Contact