When The City Sleeps

List Price: $15.00

Add to Cart
About the author:
Bonafide Rojas is a poet, musician & the author of "Pelo Bueno: A Day In The Life Of A Nuyorican Poet" (Dark Souls Press, 2004). He has appeared in Russell Simmon's "Def Poetry Jam" Season 4, a Swedish Documentary on poetry called "Spitting Ink". He has been published in the anthologies & journals: "Bum Rush the Page: A Def Poetry Jam" (Three Rivers Press, 2002), "RoleCall": A Generational Anthology of Social and Political Black Literature and Art (Third World Press, 2002), "Learn Then Burn" (Write Bloody, 2010), "Me No Habla Con Acento" (Rebel Satori Press, 2010), The Centro Journal, The Acentos Review & Palabras. He has performed nationally & internationally. He is the bandleader of experimental rock band The Mona Passage.

When The City Sleeps

Authored by Bonafide Rojas

The beauty of documenting is that it is a weapon against misconception. There exists a distinction between Bonafide Rojas' New York & its popularized identity. Rojas' love & laments are steeped in stark realism, the loneliness of being, & an observation of the dismantled facade of the city.

Every city block has an enchantment to it & he is drawn to its story. Rojas have absorbed the suffering of every brick & never lost belief of its beauty, even through the trials of the everyday. Rojas is a quintessential New Yorker & it has given him the chance to observe a living organism build & transform itself.

Continuing in the tradition of Whitman, Crane, Lorca, & Pietri, he writes to document the city's wonders, brilliance & shocking tales. The love affair he has with New York is another story to push into the concrete. "When The City Sleeps" is his offering to a city & its constant inspiration.

Publication Date:
0615581692 / 9780615581699
Page Count:
Binding Type:
US Trade Paper
Trim Size:
5" x 8"
Black and White
Related Categories:
Poetry / American / Hispanic American

Site Help Order Help Policies Contact