Auburn's Unclaimed National Championships

List Price: $18.95

Add to Cart
About the author:
Michael Skotnicki earned two degrees from Auburn University in the 1980's, and taught at Auburn as an Instructor for one year. He also graduated magna cum laude from the Cumberland School of Law of Samford University, served as a law clerk to the Chief Justice of the Alabama Supreme Court and then staff attorney to several justices of that Court, and has practiced law in Birmingham, Alabama for nearly fifteen years. He has written scientific research papers published in peer-reviewed journals, judicial opinions, articles on various legal topics, and legal briefs filed in appellate courts across the country, including the United States Supreme Court.

Auburn's Unclaimed National Championships

Authored by Michael Skotnicki

Because major college football has never had a playoff system to produce a true champion, controversy has surrounded the issue of which team could be declared a National Champion, even as far back as the early years of the last century. The sports media and followers of college football filled that vacuum by creating polls and mathematical systems to name various teams as National Champions, even retroactively naming champions for college football's early years. Some colleges have seized every opportunity to glorify their football teams by claiming a National Championship for every year possible.

An exception has been Auburn University, which has not done all it can to celebrate its success on the gridiron and officially claims a National Championship for only two seasons, 1957 and 2010. Auburn even declines to claim a National Championship for its undefeated 1913 team, although that squad is recognized as a National Champion in the Official NCAA Division I Football Records Book.

Auburn's Unclaimed National Championships seeks to alter this position of the Auburn University Athletic Department and is perhaps one of the most important books ever written about the Auburn University football program.

Author Michael Skotnicki argues that until a playoff system is instituted by the NCAA to establish a true major college football National Champion, multiple teams can make a legitimate claim to a National Championship and the concept of a true single National Champion for any season is mythical. Skotnicki notes that many universities have claimed National Championships for seasons where they were not named such by the two most well-know selectors, the Associated Press and the Coaches Poll, with two universities even adding retroactive National Championship claims to past seasons as recently as this year (2012).

This well-researched text brings needed attention to the entire history of Auburn football and makes the case for the position that in addition to the 1957 and 2010 National Championship seasons claimed by the Auburn Athletic Department, there are seven other seasons - 1910, 1913, 1914, 1958, 1983, 1993, and 2004 - for which Auburn should be recognized as a National Champion. Skotnicki, an appellate attorney, provides a history for each of these seasons, brings them to life, and makes the case for why Auburn's claim to recognition as a National Champion for each of those years is as strong or stronger than the teams accepted as national champions in those seasons.

Skotnicki argues that in only claiming two National Championship seasons, Auburn University is forsaking much of its great football history, and that it should claim a total of nine National Championships.

Publication Date:
0615693687 / 9780615693682
Page Count:
Binding Type:
US Trade Paper
Trim Size:
6" x 9"
Black and White
Related Categories:
Sports & Recreation / Football / General

Site Help Order Help Policies Contact