The Moroni Deception

List Price: $8.50

Add to Cart
About the author:
I'm a writer, ex-military, and an avid traveler. After my Army stint and then deciding to pass on law school, I went to film school, wrote screenplays, and held a number of jobs which ran from everything to working for a newspaper for a day, to film production, to then going into real estate (with at least five others along the way). I'm fascinated by history, politics, and architecture, all of which play a part in my novels (yes, I already have another in the works). When not writing, I can often be found hiking with my two faithful dogs, occasionally breaking out the old BMW bike for a ride though the mountains, or playing volleyball or bar trivia with my friends. After reading Jon Krakauer's bestselling "Under the Banner of Heaven," I was inspired to undertake a full year of research in preparation for the novel. Taking what I'd learned, along with a bit of imagination, the result was the conspiracy thriller, "The Moroni Deception."

The Moroni Deception
 

Authored by Jack L Brody

Michael Chenault, award-winning investigative journalist with the New York Times, is rousted in the middle of the night by NYPD detectives and accused of the bizarre murder of a complete stranger. After clearing himself, Chenault finds that Martin Koplanski, the retired history professor he'd been accused of murdering, was likely killed for a mysterious Mormon relic long thought to be just a myth. Twenty-four hours later, Chenault receives an email with a photo of the recently murdered wife of Presidential candidate, Brockston Ratchford. She too appears to have been ritually killed in the exact manner as Koplanski, right down to having the same cryptic character scrawled in blood across her forehead. With way more than just a hunch to now go on, Chenault heads out to Salt Lake City, the site of the Ratchford murder investigation, to find out what, if any, connection there is between the murders.

With the help of a beautiful young reporter he meets along the way, Chenault comes to learn the dark family secrets of a rising political star, along with the rather strange but true history of the Mormon church. As he pieces the story together of what appears to be an ever-growing conspiracy, Chenault is pursued by The Brothers, two murderous zealots who will stop at nothing to retrieve the Mormon relic Chenault is also trying to find. What Chenault eventually discovers is that what he's uncovered may not only affect the outcome of the next Presidential election, but decide the fate of an entire religion-if he can manage to stay alive.

In the tradition of Raymond Khoury, Brad Meltzer, Dan Brown and Steve Berry, The Moroni Deception is a cleverly conceived, twisting tale of political and religious intrigue by a new master of the conspiracy thriller.


Publication Date:
2012-12-19
ISBN/EAN13:
0615722261 / 9780615722269
Page Count:
336
Binding Type:
US Trade Paper
Trim Size:
5" x 8"
Language:
English
Color:
Black and White
Related Categories:
Fiction / Thrillers




Site Help Order Help Policies Contact