Your Cart 
Trio for Violin, Cello and Piano, "Gernika"

List Price: $22.00

Add to Cart

Return to Catalog

About the author:
Octavio Vazquez's music has gathered ever-increasing international attention since the premiere of his orchestral masterpiece "Memento" in 1999. Equally comfortable with the orchestra and with chamber ensembles, his catalog has rapidly grown to more than 40 titles, many of which have received national and international awards. Originally from Santiago de Compostela, Galicia, Mr Vazquez immigrated to the US in 1996 and currently resides in New York City.

Trio for Violin, Cello and Piano, "Gernika"

Authored by Octavio Vazquez
Edition: 1

In his chamber music Octavio Vazquez often delves into the darker regions of human
experience, portraying a full spectrum of deep psychological states and raw emotions. The piano trio is a perfect example of this. Commissioned in 2006 by the Guernica Project, this piece tackles some of the most traumatic moments in the recent history of Spain.

On April 26th 1937, a massive air raid by combined German and Italian forces obliterated the Basque town of Guernica in Northern Spain. Never before in history had a civilian population been attacked from the air with the intent of producing total destruction. By May 1st, news of the massacre reached Paris, bringing about the largest May Day demonstration the city has ever known, and inspiring one of Pablo Picasso's most famous paintings. Today, Picasso's "Guernica" stands as one of the most powerful anti-war statements of the twentieth century.

The 'Guernica' trio is a monumental five-movement piece, simultaneously eclectic and sober in its approach. While employing some of the most solid techniques of western music, such as a cyclical structure and an extensive use of counterpoint and variation, it incorporates as well numerous references to traditional music and quotations from well known Civil-War-related melodies. The result is a veritable tour de force of chamber music writing, a work that after its inaugural season is already considered by many an addition to the classical piano trio repertoire.

* * *

Full score, ca.50', paperback edition.
Violin and cello parts available at (free PDF download, link included with the full score)
Published by Conwell Publishing Group, New York

Publication Date:
1482786303 / 9781482786309
Page Count:
Binding Type:
US Trade Paper
Trim Size:
8.5" x 11"
Black and White
Related Categories:
Music / Printed Music / Opera & Classical Scores

Site Help Order Help Policies Contact