Your Cart 
Sonata for Viola and Piano no.2

List Price: $20.00

Add to Cart

Return to Catalog

About the author:
Octavio Vazquez's music has gathered ever-increasing international attention since the premiere of his orchestral masterpiece "Memento" in 1999. Equally comfortable with the orchestra and with chamber ensembles, his catalog has rapidly grown to more than 40 titles, many of which have received national and international awards. Originally from Santiago de Compostela, Galicia, Octavio immigrated to the US in 1996 and currently resides in New York City.

Sonata for Viola and Piano no.2

Authored by Octavio Vazquez
Edition: 1

The Sonata for Viola and Piano no. 2 was written in 2002 for violist Viacheslav Dinerchtein. In Spring of 2003, it was one of the winning pieces at the Prokofiev International Competition in St. Petersburg, where it was performed by Vladimir Bistritsky of the Nevsky String Quartet. Mr. Dinerchtein premiered the sonata in New York later that year at the Weill Hall at Carnegie Hall, accompanied by pianist Eldar Nebolsin. Described by New York critic Mark Greenfest as "...a Sephardic Kol-Nidre...a full spectrum of emotion...not for the faint-hearted", at the core of the piece are the events that took place in mid Europe in the 40's, especially the Holocaust. Written in five movements, each one delves into a particular set of thoughts and emotions, from extreme sorrow, fear and anguish, to moments of madness, dissociation, utter exhaustion, and ultimately death.

* * *

Full score: ca.45', paperback edition.
Clarinet part available at (free PDF download, link included with the full score)
Published by Conwell Publishing Group, New York

Publication Date:
1482786818 / 9781482786811
Page Count:
Binding Type:
US Trade Paper
Trim Size:
8.5" x 11"
Black and White
Related Categories:
Music / Printed Music / Opera & Classical Scores

Site Help Order Help Policies Contact