Your Cart 
A Collection of Short Mysteries

List Price: $7.99

Add to Cart

Return to Candida's E-Book Page

About the author:
About the Editor

Candida Martinelli is a technical and creative writer, and most-importantly, she is a confirmed Italophile. To share her love of Italian culture, in 2003 she established the Italian culture website CANDIDA MARTINELLI'S ITALOPHILE SITE at The website has grown into a popular entertainment and reference site.

She is the author of the cozy-murder-mystery novel AN EXTRA VIRGIN PRESSING MURDER, and the young-adult/adult mystery novel series THE VIOLET STRANGE MYSTERIES.

Candida's creative writing includes screenplay adaptations of her novels, and short scripts and original screenplays. For contact information, and to view the trailers for her books and screenplays, visit Candida Martinelli's writing website at

A Collection of Short Mysteries

Authored by Candida Martinelli

About this Collection

This is a sampling of some classic short mysteries. Hopefully, they will entice the reader to enjoy the whole series of short mysteries.

E. W. Hornung's creation, A. J. Raffles, the gentleman thief, was first featured in a film in 1905 and he has starred in films and television shows ever since. Candida has selected the first two stories from THE AMATEUR CRACKSMAN (1899), the very first Raffles stories. The stories show the complex character's addiction to adrenaline, and to a not always successful life of crime.

Candida has selected two unique stories from THE CASE BOOK OF SHERLOCK HOLMES (1927) by Arthur Conan Doyle. The first story is a rarity because it is written in the third-person perspective, rather than the first person narration by Dr. Watson, as was the norm for all other Holmes stories. The second story selected is a very unusual Holmes story, the unique plot of which has been borrowed many times over, most recently for several television mystery series episodes.

THE INNOCENCE OF FATHER BROWN (1911) was the first of five collections of Father Brown stories by G. K. Chesterton. Candida has selected the first two stories from this series' first book. You will see shades of U.S. television's Father Dowling, and Italy's Don Matteo in Father Brown. There have been two films and two television series adapted from Chesterton's stories.

The Hungarian born Baroness Orczy is most famous for creating THE SCARLET PIMPERNEL. In her short story collection LADY MOLLY OF SCOTLAND YARD (1910) the Baroness followed the rules of the day for female detectives: Lady Mary worked tirelessly learning her craft with the sole honorable scope of freeing her wrongly convicted husband. Once she managed to get him freed, she retired to domestic bliss. The two stories Candida has selected are the first and the last of the Lady Molly stories.

Use this code AHY2J7GU for 2.00$ off the cover price at the CreateSpace shop: The book will cost 5.99$ instead of 7.99$.

Publication Date:
1483961028 / 9781483961026
Page Count:
Binding Type:
US Trade Paper
Trim Size:
5.5" x 8.5"
Black and White
Related Categories:
Fiction / Mystery & Detective / Traditional

Site Help Order Help Policies Contact