Labyrinth (organ) and HaChZaRaH (organ and violin)

List Price: $9.95

Add to Cart

see more titles and hear excerpts

About the author:
Over the past 30 years, composer Janika Vandervelde has written over 100 works for orchestras, choirs, chamber ensembles, soloists, and the stage. Her scores have been commissioned and performed by groups at all levels, from professionals to children, including Chanticleer, the Dale Warland Singers, the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra, the New Zealand String Quartet, the Melbourne (Australia) Chamber Choir, the Kitka Women's Choir (San Francisco), the Minnesota Orchestra, the Glen Ellyn Children's Choir (Chicago), the Guthrie Theatre (Minneapolis), and numerous church, school, community, and festival choirs. Vandervelde currently teaches composition at Hamline University (Saint Paul, MN). Her music is published by earthsongs, Boosey & Hawkes, Hothouse Press, and Miela Harmonija.

For more information visit

Labyrinth (organ) and HaChZaRaH (organ and violin)

Authored by Janika Vandervelde

This volume contains two mystical works for organ: 1) Labyrinth (for solo organ) is based on the architecture of the Chartres Labyrinth on the floor of the Chartres Cathedral, France; and 2) HaChZaRaH (for organ and violin) is based on a quotation from the 17th-century Rabbi Moshe Chaim Luzzatto (Ramchal): "No light accomplishes its purpose until it emerges from and returns to its Source." HaChZaRaH was commissioned by the American Guild of Organists in 2008 for its Biennial National Convention. Labyrinth was commissioned by First UCC Northfield, MN, in honor of Theo Wee.

Publication Date:
1484879864 / 9781484879863
Page Count:
Binding Type:
US Trade Paper
Trim Size:
8.5" x 11"
Black and White
Related Categories:
Music / Printed Music / Mixed Collections

Site Help Order Help Policies Contact