Second Language Acquisition

List Price: $9.99

Add to Cart
About the author:
Thomas Baker is the Past-President of TESOL Chile (2010-2011). He is the Head of the English Department at Colegio Internacional SEK in Santiago, Chile.

He is the Co-Founder and Co-Organiser of EdCamp Santiago 2012 & Edcamp Chile 2013, free, participant-driven, democratic, conversation based professional development for teachers, by teachers. EdCamp Santiago 2012 was held at Universidad Mayor in Santiago.

Thomas is also a member of the Advisory Board for the International Higher Education Teaching and Learning Association (HETL), where he also serves as a reviewer and as the HETL Ambassador for Chile.

Thomas enjoys writing about a wide variety of topics. Thus far, he has written the following genres: romance, historical fiction, autobiographical, sports history/biography, and English Language Teaching. He has published a total of sixty-five (65) books.

The source and inspiration for his writing comes from his family, his wife Gabriela, and his son, Thomas Jerome Baker, Jr.

Second Language Acquisition
 

Language, Culture & Identity, For Practical Use by English Language Learners Worldwide ? ELL / ESL / EAL / EFL

Authored by Thomas Jerome Baker

"Written for new teachers, experienced teachers, parents of English Language Learners worldwide, and students from all disciplines with a need to know how students learn English in actual day to day practice. This book provides an actionable answer to the question of "How Do Students Learn English?" through the discovery method applied to case studies and actual experience, in reality.

If encountering the topic for the first time, this is a clear and practical introduction to experiential Second Language Acquisition (SLA). It shows actual students and teachers grappling with SLA issues in an interdisciplinary manner. To do this, we "stand on the shoulders of giants" like Wittgenstein, Gass & Selinker.

Storytelling becomes the medium to illustrate SLA in action, without being heavy on explanation. This is an inductive, discovery approach to deep learning about SLA in action.

How a second language is acquired; whether English, French, Yu'pik, or Mapudungun is what the second language learner needs to know; whether in the USA, Canada, Singapore, China, Chile or any other location worldwide, we all need to find relevant answers to know why some learners are more successful than others. The book introduces in a warm, friendly, first-person, engaging fashion a range of fundamental concepts - such as SLA in adults and children, in formal and informal learning contexts, and in diverse sociocultural settings - and takes (in the tradition of Gass & Selinker) an interdisciplinary approach, encouraging students to consider SLA from linguistic, psychological, and social perspectives."

Second Language Acquisition: This book is designed to inspire readers to reach for their dreams in language learning. Buy this book. Read it. Share it with everyone you know. You - and they - will be glad you did!


Publication Date:
May 14 2013
ISBN/EAN13:
1484936736 / 9781484936733
Page Count:
108
Binding Type:
US Trade Paper
Trim Size:
6" x 9"
Language:
English
Color:
Black and White
Related Categories:
Education / Professional Development




Site Help Order Help Policies Contact