Howlin' Spirits
Your Cart

Howlin' Spirits

Disc Price:
Add to Cart

Return to Davis Quinn's BandCamp Site

Howlin' Spirits

Artist/Band: Davis Quinn

An album unlike any other, Davis Quinn's Howlin' Spirits is an experimental lo-fi folk rock journey through an alternate history evolution of folk music from bare-bones field recordings to folk rock to pure noise. Davis Quinn imagines that the pop folk of the 60s and groups like The Kingston Trio and Peter, Paul, and Mary never existed and allows folk music to evolve into the 21st century on its own terms. Features a children's song and field holler mashup of "Shortnin' Bread," and a searing rendition of "House of the Rising Sun" with additional verses from "Amazing Grace" and Emily Dickinson's "Because I could not stop for Death."

1. Wild Mountain Thyme
2. My Horses Ain't Hungry
3. Alabama Bound
4. Angel Band
5. When the Saints Go Marching In
6. Everybody Talkin' 'Bout Heaven Ain't Goin' There
7. Bring Me a Little Water, Sylvie
8. Nine Hundred Miles
9. Shortnin' Bread
10. House of the Rising Sun
11. East Virginia
12. House Carpenter
13. The Riddle Song
14. Wild Mountain Thyme

Title #800010857
Format: CD-R