Victory with The Wicked Darling
Your Cart

Victory with The Wicked Darling

Disc Price:
Add to Cart

Browse All Flicker Alley MOD Titles

Victory with The Wicked Darling

Long before he became known as the "Man of a Thousand Faces," Lon Chaney quickly gained attention for being one of Hollywood's prominent character actors as these outstanding early examples of Chaney's unique talents in acting and makeup clearly attest.

A visual treat from gifted director Maurice Tourneur, Victory features Chaney as the villainous Ricardo who is out to steal not only another man's fortune, but also the lovely Seena Owen.

The first of ten films Lon Chaney made with director Tod Browning, the gritty crime melodrama The Wicked Darling was thought to be lost until the last decade and is shown here for the first time in over eighty years. Together these long-sought-after films allow viewers to see Lon Chaney in roles that won him the reputation of Hollywood's greatest character actor.

Both of these films are mastered from 35mm elements, are tinted and have new music score composed and performed by Eric Beheim using authentic orchestrations and period photoplay music heard in theaters of the era. Victory is complete with all original titles; The Wicked Darling is copied from the sole surviving print, preserved by the Netherlands Filmmuseum. It shows damage from wear and mildew and was slightly shortened for distribution in Holland. Most of the intertitles are the original texts, found in Universal's files, but translations from the Dutch were used in a few instances where the title list was incomplete.

1919/ 62 minutes / Color Tinted / USA
Starring Lon Chaney, Seena Owen, Wallace Beery
Produced and Directed by Maurice Tourneur
Screenplay by Stephen Fox (pseudonym for Jules Furthman) based upon the 1915 novel by Joseph Conrad

The Wicked Darling
1919 / 59 minutes / Color Tinted / USA
Starring Lon Chaney, Priscilla Dean, Wellington Playter
Directed by Tod Browning
Screenplay by Harvey Gates from a story by Evelyn Campbell
Music for Both Films Compiled and Performed by Eric Beheim


Title #850002348
Format: DVD-R